Look to the future to unite the country

first_imgThis is a great country, and its greatness is greatly increased when we are one.The past is history and there’s nothing that we can do about it. Today, we should maximize that which unites us and minimize that which divides us.We cannot change history, but the future is in our hands.George SummersellSaratoga SpringsMore from The Daily Gazette:Foss: Should main downtown branch of the Schenectady County Public Library reopen?Schenectady, Saratoga casinos say reopening has gone well; revenue down 30%EDITORIAL: Beware of voter intimidationEDITORIAL: Thruway tax unfair to working motoristsEDITORIAL: Find a way to get family members into nursing homes Categories: Letters to the Editor, Opinionlast_img

West Indies name ODI and T20 squads for India tour

first_imgST JOHN’S, Antigua – Cricket West Indies selection panel today named the two squads to face India in the One-Day International and T20 Internationals next month. The selectors have kept faith with the players who recently played against Afghanistan in Lucknow, India.West Indies, the reigning ICC World T20 champions, will face India in three T20Is at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad on December 6; in Thiruvananthapuram on December 8 and at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, on December 11. Following that series the two teams will meet in three ODIs in Chennai (December 15), in Vizag (December 18) and on Cuttack (December 22).The panel outlined that Nicholas Pooran will continue as vice captain of the T20I squad, for continuity and with a view to the future, and he remains the best choice as deputy to captain Kieron Pollard. Shai Hope will also continue as vice captain of the ODI squad.Speaking on the squads Coach Phil Simmons said:“We have three matches in each format, so we wanted to give each squad a chance to compete against India. No disrespect to Afghanistan, but facing India will be a more difficult series, especially in the ODI. Our players really the hang of thing with the 3-0 series win and I believe we will move from strength to strength.”Simmons added:“In the T20s this will be another chance for them to play and development, and again no disrespect to Afghanistan, this should be a stronger T20 country and we will look to see how they perform against India. The next World Cup is in Australia (2020) and the one after that is here in India (2021) so there is a lot of preparation to be done for first for Australia, so we have given the players here a chance in this series and we know we have players outside who may be coming in later on as well, so it’s good to give those here another opportunity.”Squads: West Indies ODI Squad: Sunil Ambris, Shai Hope, Khary Pierre, Rostan Chase, Alzarri Joseph, Kieron Pollard (C), Sheldon Cottrell, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Romario Shepherd, Jason Holder, Keemo Paul, Hayden Walsh Jr.West Indies T20 squad: Fabian Allen, Brandon King, Denesh Ramdin, Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis, Sherfane Rutherford, Shimron Hetmyer, Khary Pierre, Lendl Simmons, Jason Holder, Kieron Pollard (C), Hayden Walsh Jr, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Kesrick Williams.last_img read more

NSA Announces First Set of Shortlists for Award

first_imgCoach Are Feyisetan was the coach of the Nigerian Powerlifting Team at the just concluded Paralympic games in Rio, Brazil, where they won nine medals; Coach Imama Amanpakabo led Enugu Rangers to clinch the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) Title, while Coach Samson Siasia led the Dream Team VI to win a bronze medal, Nigeria’s only medal at the 2016 Rio Olympic in the Men’s football games.For the Footballer of the Year category nominees, Kelechi Iheanacho, the current performing star for both the country and his club, Manchester City; Godwin Obaje, Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) top scorer and Chisom Egbuchulam, a striker of Enugu Ranger, all made it to the shortlist.To earn the nomination for the Team of the Year, Enugu Rangers broke a 26 year long jinx by winning the 2016 Nigeria Professional Football League Title, while the Dream Team VI made the shortlist by winning the ‘golden’ bronze medal at the 2016 Rio Olympic games, men’s football game.“The shortlist is purely an outcome of the nominations received from members of the public through the various nomination platforms starting from Tuesday, July 26, 2016 when the nominations opened until midnight, Monday, October 24, 2016,” he said.Isiguzo also noted that the panel would subsequently release the other nomination shortlists as all is being prepared for the award ceremony which would hold on December 2, 2016 at Eko Hotels & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos. Share this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegram Organisers of the Nigerian Sports Award have announced the first set of nominees shortlisted for the 5th Anniversary Edition of the prestigious sports award ceremony.Rising from the award panel sitting held in Lagos on Tuesday, October 25, 2016, the Panel announced the shortlists for three awards categories; Coach of the Year, Footballer of the Year (Men) and Team of the Year.According to the Chairman of the award panel, Mr. Ikeddy Isiguzo, the shortlisted nominees for each of the categories includes: Coach Samson Siasia, Coach Imana Amanpakabo and Coach Are Feyisetan for the ‘Coach of the Year’ category; Kelechi Iheanacho, Godwin Obaje and Chisom Egbuchulam for Footballer of the Year (Men); Dream Team VI and Enugu Rangers for Team of the Year.last_img read more