Full text of cabinet appointment

first_imgPresident Jacob Zuma delivering hisinauguration speech at the Union Buildingsin Pretoria on Saturday 9 May 2009.(Image: BuaNews)The following is the full text of President Jacob Zuma’s statement on the appointment of South Africa’s new cabinet on 10 May 2009. Members of the media,Good afternoon and thank you for joining us.We have since the launch of the ANC Manifesto indicated the type of new administration we envisaged in terms of size, shape and political focus.We went into an intensive process through the ANC’s National Executive Committee to discuss the type of government structure that would best serve our goals. We wanted a structure that would enable us to achieve visible and tangible socio-economic development within the next five years.It should be a structure which would enable us to effectively implement our policies.The structure of Cabinet and national departments has therefore been re-organised to achieve better alignment between the structure, our electoral mandate as per our election Manifesto, and the developmental challenges that need to receive immediate attention from government.In summary, some of the changes in the structure of government are the following:Following extensive research on international models on how governments in other parts of the world plan and monitor performance, we have decided to establish a National Planning Commission which will be based in the Presidency.The NPC will be responsible for strategic planning for the country to ensure one National Plan to which all spheres of government would adhere.This would enable us to take a more comprehensive view of socio-economic development in the country.We have also created a monitoring and evaluation competency in the Presidency, to monitor and evaluate the performance of government in all three spheres.There will therefore be two Ministers in the Presidency, one responsible for the NPC and the other for Monitoring and Evaluation as well as administration in the Presidency.Other changes are the following:The Department of Minerals and Energy will be split into two separate departments of Mining and of Energy, each with a MinisterThe Department of Education will be split into separate Ministries, one for Basic Education and the other for Higher Education and Training.The Department of Housing will be called the Department of Human Settlements to take on a more holistic focusThere will be a new department of Rural Development and Land Affairs, which are part of our key priorities for the next five yearsThe Department of Water affairs and Forestry becomes the Department of Water and Environmental Affairs.A new Department of Economic Development has been established to focus on economic policymaking. The implementation functions will remain with the Department of Trade and IndustryA new department of Tourism has been createdAgriculture becomes Agriculture, Fisheries and ForestryThe Department of Provincial and Local Government becomes Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs.A new Ministry has been created for Women, Youth, Children and People with Disability, to emphasise the need for equity and access to development opportunities for the vulnerable groups in our society.The Cabinet that will fulfill our objectives is composed as follows:The Deputy President of the Republic of South Africa will be Mr Kgalema Petros Motlanthe.The rest of Cabinet in alphabetical order is as follows:1. Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Minister: Tina Joemat-PetersonDeputy Minister: Dr Pieter Mulder2. Arts and Culture Minister: Lulu XingwanaDeputy Minister: Paul Mashatile3. Basic Education Minister: Angie MotshekgaDeputy Minister: Enver Surty4. Communications Minister: Siphiwe NyandaDeputy Minister: Dina Pule5. Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Minister: Sicelo ShicekaDeputy Minister: Yunus Carrim6. Correctional Services Minister: Nosiviwe Mapisa-NqakulaDeputy Minister: Hlengiwe Mkhize7. Defence and Military Veterans Minister: Lindiwe SisuluDeputy Minister: Thabang Makwetla8. Economic Development Minister: Ebrahim PatelDeputy Minister: Gwen Mahlangu-Nkabinde9. Energy Minister: Dipuo Peters10. Finance Minister: Pravin GordhanDeputy Minister: Nhlanhla Nene11. Health Minister: Dr Aaron MotsoalediDeputy Minister: Dr Molefi Sefularo12. Higher Education and Training Minister: Dr Blade Nzimande13. Home Affairs Minister: Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-ZumaDeputy Minister: Malusi Gigaba14. Human Settlements Minister: Tokyo SexwaleDeputy Minister: Zou Kota15. International Relations and Cooperation Minister: Maite Nkoana-MashabaneDeputy Minister (1): Ebrahim Ismail EbrahimDeputy Minister (2): Sue van der Merwe16. Justice and Constitutional Development Minister: Jeff RadebeDeputy Minister: Andries Nel17. Labour Minister: Membathisi Mdladlana18. Mining Minister: Susan Shabangu19. Police Minister: Nathi MthethwaDeputy Minister: Fikile Mbalula20. Public Enterprises Minister: Barbara HoganDeputy Minister: Enoch Godongwana21. Public Service and Administration Minister: Richard BaloyiDeputy Minister: Roy Padayachie22. Public Works Minister: Geoff DoidgeDeputy Minister: Hendrietta Bogopane-Zulu23. Rural Development and Land Reform Minister: Gugile NkwintiDeputy Minister: Dr Joe Phaahla24. Science and Technology Minister: Naledi PandorDeputy Minister: Derek Hanekom25. Social Development Minister: Edna MolewaDeputy Minister: Bathabile Dlamini26. Sport and Recreation Minister: Makhenkesi StofileDeputy Minister: Gert Oosthuizen27. State Security Minister: Siyabonga Cwele28. Minister in The Presidency (1) National Planning Commission: Trevor Manuel29. Minister in The Presidency (2) Performance Monitoring and Evaluation as well as Administration in the Presidency: Collins Chabane30. Tourism Minister: Marthinus van SchalkwykDeputy: Thozile Xasa31. Trade and Industry Minister: Rob DaviesDeputy Minister (1): Thandi TobiasDeputy Minister (2): Maria Ntuli32. Transport Minister: Sbusiso Joel NdebeleDeputy Minister: Jeremy Cronin33. Water and Environmental  Affairs Minister: Buyelwa SonjicaDeputy Minister: Rejoice Mabhudafhasi34. Women, Youth, Children and People with Disabilities Minister: Noluthando Mayende-SibiyaWe stated clearly during the campaign that we want an efficient, caring and effective administration, which will be accessible and responsive to the needs of the people.We reiterate that we will not tolerate laziness and incompetence, and that we will emphasise excellence and achievement from the Cabinet and the public service.With these objectives in mind, I am confident that the new structure of government will enable the state machinery to speed up service delivery.Civil servants will not lose their jobs as a result of these changes. This is a matter of principle in terms of the country’s labour relations dispensation.I however want to stress to our public servants that the era of hard work has begun. Public servants who do their work diligently and efficiently have nothing to worry about.I wish the new team all the best with their responsibilities.We request the South African public and all key sectors of our society to support them in their national service.Let me also take this opportunity to wish all South African mothers well on Mother’s Day today.Mothers are the backbones of our families, communities and our nation.We truly appreciate their role in our society, in both the public sphere and within families.I thank you.Source: The Presidency – Republic of South Africalast_img

Leave a Comment