Modi BJP leaders remember Savarkar on birth anniversary

first_imgNew Delhi: Prime Minister-elect Narendra Modi was among several BJP leaders on Tuesday who remembered Hindutva philosopher Vinayak Damodar Savarkar on his 136th birth anniversary. “We bow to Veer Savarkar on his Jayanti. Veer Savarkar epitomises courage, patriotism and unflinching commitment to a strong India. He inspired many people to devote themselves towards nation building,” Modi said in a tweet. Savarkar, was an independence activist, politician, lawyer, writer, and the formulator of the Hindutva philosophy. Also Read – Dussehra with a ‘green’ twist He was born on this day in 1883. Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu also tweeted saying the “nation will always remember the sacrifices made by him during the freedom struggle”. Bharatiya Janata Party leaders leader Arun Jaitley, Rajyavardhan Rathore and Rajnath Singh also remembered him. Jaitley said Savarkar’s “nationalistic ideals, patriotism and courage guided generations of Indians”. Rathore called him an “epitome of patriotism and true inspiration”, while Singh said that “Savarkar’s courage during the freedom movement and his contribution to this great nation will continue to inspire coming generations”.last_img read more

NDA to strengthen position in Rajya Sabha

first_imgNew Delhi: The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) will strengthen its position in the Rajya Sabha with the addition of four more members later this week. This will be following the inclusion of four Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and one Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) member. With this, the NDA will have 115 MPs with a clear sight at the halfway mark of 121 in the House of 241 (actual strength 245). These members are from Bihar, Gujarat and Odisha. In Bihar, the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) will get the slot. Two seats will be added to the BJP’s tally in Gujarat and one in Odisha out of three. Also Read – How a psychopath killer hid behind the mask of a devout laity! The Bharatiya Janata Party is the single largest party in the Upper House with 75 members. The Congress is the largest opposition party with 48 members and Samaajwadi Party and Trinamool Congress being the largest non-Congress-non-BJP party with 13 members each. There will be five vacancies from Tamil Nadu on July 24. These are D. Raja of CPI, and AIADMK’s K.R. Arjunan, Dr. R. Lakshmanan, Dr. V. Maitreyan and T. Rathinavel Rathinavel. Unlike the first term of the Modi government, the NDA is expecting less obstacles in the Rajya Sabhja this time. In his speech in the Rajya Sabha on the President’s address, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had said that the mandate of the people should not be stifled by putting obstacles in clearing the bills. The BJP is expecting issue-based support from parties like the Biju Janata Dal (5), YSR Congress (2) and TRS (6 members).last_img read more